MA_Marlins Online Squadron

Relocated
It is currently 11 Dec 2018 10:33

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 26 Oct 2006 18:53 
Offline
>500

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 01:28
Posts: 929
Location: Behind a 109
Youll love it DB :rox:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 26 Oct 2006 19:27 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
MA_DanglyBob wrote:
OK so I'm ordering a few bits then.

Abit KN8 SLi, NF4 SLI, S939, PCI-E (x16), DDR 400/266/333, SATA II, SATA RAID, ATX £63.44

160 Gb Maxtor 6G160EO DiamondMax Plus 17, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 8MB Cache, 9.0 ms, NCQ £37.00

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Socket939, VeniceCore, 2.0GHz, 512KB Cache, OEM £43.48

Akasa AK-862 S754/S939 + AM2 9cm Ultra Quiet Amber Heat Sink Fan - A64/FX53

plus a SATA PSU converter if I can find one on scan


yup :-)

and with your two sticks of 1gig PC3200....you'll FLY!!!

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 26 Oct 2006 21:17 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:50
Posts: 1106
Location: Here
If u cant find them at scan m8 I have some.

_________________
Play chess online


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 00:27 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 09 Dec 2004 22:21
Posts: 722
Location: Daaarrrzet
cheers trig

just ordered one from ebuyer at £1.50 or summat...

_________________
Image
Monkeeees....Not just for breakfast...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 00:47 
Offline
>500

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 01:28
Posts: 929
Location: Behind a 109
This is mad, just put on BF2 I honestly didnt relise it could look that good :S

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 10:35 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 09 Dec 2004 22:21
Posts: 722
Location: Daaarrrzet
Bet it loads a darn sight quicker too...

going to be a few days before I get hold of my bits and get round to a build...

_________________
Image
Monkeeees....Not just for breakfast...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 11:05 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
take your time....we did! Get it right and clean, good airflow and tidy innards :-)

Dak's is a peach now :-) and quieter than ever before. We even took out a case fan as I'm convinced it was not doing any good, only harm.

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 11:07 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
while we're at it.....Bob, as you're doing a clean install, try this on your old machine.

Start, Run and type

msconfig

when it loads, go to the tab on the right that says Start Up.
Count the things that load on boot up.
When XP is fresh, no drivers etc...it has zero entries.
Every time you install summit, drivers or whatever, check it again, google the item and see if it's needed.
And dont let anyone install stuff like Quick Time without you disabling all the assosciated cack with it.

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 11:38 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 09 Dec 2004 22:21
Posts: 722
Location: Daaarrrzet
I quite regularly go in and clear out cack....

Not looking forward to the new Vista. Can only imagine what extra cack that's going to put in. XP is bad enough.

Always on the lookout for 'lite' versions of bits.
One I found ages ago was the alternative for realplayer...
Going to have to go find them all again now...

Hate doing fresh installs. At least I'll be able to save the old 40Gb HD with the original stuff on it to transfer emails, old save games, configs etc across from.

Ordered all the bits now anyway. Scans stuff will arrive on Monday. I had to order the board from another supplier, Misco, as Scan had run out of those boards.

_________________
Image
Monkeeees....Not just for breakfast...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 12:02 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
I love fresh installs. My mobile is on most of the time, so don't panic ;)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Last edited by MA_Zak33 on 27 Oct 2006 13:00, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 12:05 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:50
Posts: 1106
Location: Here
I hate doing fresh installs thats why I have a section on my D drive called Storage where I have all the apps and patches that I use when I do a refresh install, quickalternative and real alternative are both in there Bob ;)

_________________
Play chess online


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 12:09 
Offline
>1000
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:38
Posts: 1036
Location: London
You'll love the new clause in Vista's EULA.. you are only allowed to transfer the license once.

That is, you can buy it, install it. Then when you buy new hardware you can re-install it, after that you'll need to buy a new license.

_________________
Image
Не роза без шипa
Not a Rose Without a Thorn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 12:25 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:50
Posts: 1106
Location: Here
What about when you just reinstall it on the same hardware?
I reinstall my XP about 3/4 times a year, might actually get round to just imaging the drive next tiome when its done and just resetting it to where it was post install just after activation...

_________________
Play chess online


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 15:13 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
MA_Thorn wrote:
You'll love the new clause in Vista's EULA.. you are only allowed to transfer the license once.

That is, you can buy it, install it. Then when you buy new hardware you can re-install it, after that you'll need to buy a new license.


Surely that's OEM only?

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Oct 2006 15:16 
Offline
>1000
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:38
Posts: 1036
Location: London
I'll find the link, and post in a mo.

Basically it's a change from the XP license, at the mo you can reinstall XP happy as larry as many times as you like (though you may need to phone MS when you change hardware) providing you no longer have it installed on whatever machine it was previously installed on (i.e. no multiple installs.. duh.)

With Vista you are only allowed to do this twice. (1st install, then one transfer)


EDIT: http://www.maximumpc.com/2006/10/microsofts_lice.html

Quote:
Here’s the exact text: “The first user of the software may reassign the license to another device one time.” That means that if you purchase a copy of Vista at retail—be it the $200 Home Basic or the $400 Vista Ultimate package—you have the right to install that OS on one machine. When you retire that machine, you can install the OS on a second PC, but that’s it.

_________________
Image
Не роза без шипa
Not a Rose Without a Thorn


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group