MA_Marlins Online Squadron

Relocated
It is currently 15 Dec 2018 01:05

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Rad Pro 9800
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2005 22:38 
Offline
>500

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 01:28
Posts: 929
Location: Behind a 109
Hits and tips chaps? Always run Nvidia so dont know nowt re best drivers for IL2....I assume Im safest reformatting etc to install?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 26 Jul 2005 23:07 
Offline
1

Joined: 22 May 2005 21:26
Posts: 34
Location: London
personal preferance would be to use Omega ATI drivers http://www.omegadrivers.net/ Radeon Omega Drivers 2.6.53 (Catalyst 5.7) released a couple of days ago

no real need to format, just clean registry after properly uninstalling old drivers.

_________________
Bob's your uncle


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Jul 2005 10:43 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
tbh Dakky most ATI cards dont give two sh1ts about nVidia drivers, it goes wrong the other way around.

SO....Add Remove Programs to take out the nvidia drivers (make sure you're not taking out the motherboard drivers if you have an nvidi amobo;))

Then download latest ATI Catalyst drivers....there's a lot of talk about the new Catalyst Control Centre. Won't go into it.
https://support.ati.com/ics/support/def ... olderID=27

Simply down load the DRIVER : http://www2.ati.com/drivers/5-7_xp-2k_dd_24085.exe

and the normal Contol Panel :
http://www2.ati.com/drivers/5-7_xp-2k_cp_24085.exe

Save to .....wherever.

Having taken old drivers out, and booted down, fit new card then reboot with new card in the slot, and be PATIENT. XP will find built in drivers and then you can install the new drivers.

Double click on the Drivers first....wait for them to install and don't reboot.

Then double click on the Control Panel, and once again don't reboot when it asks.

Once you're back to desktop, and nothing else is occuring....
THEN REBOOT.

When it reboot to XP......dont panic when the screen goes black on reboot....

it does it right near the end of XP booting. Always sh1ts me right up ;)

Then you're sorted.

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Jul 2005 14:22 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
I'd use catalyst 4.11 if I was you.

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Jul 2005 15:33 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
think he's right..

Driver here: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/wxp-w2k-8-0 ... 18719c.exe

Control Panel here: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/control-pan ... 18719c.exe

both from this page: https://support.ati.com/ics/support/def ... olderID=27

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Jul 2005 15:56 
Offline
>500

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 01:28
Posts: 929
Location: Behind a 109
Ok grabbed them Roll on Monday so I can pay for this and get it next week :) Quite please paid £60 which seems a fair price

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Jul 2005 16:04 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:28
Posts: 627
Location: In the Pickle Barrel
I'm running the 5.1 CATs atm had problems with other apps with 4.11....

_________________
Image
Luke: "I can't type with a HOTAS"
Nuts: "Why don't you use your keyboard?"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Jul 2005 16:06 
Offline
>500

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 01:28
Posts: 929
Location: Behind a 109
Gawd now confused :(

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Jul 2005 16:39 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
don't be,.....

just install them and try...

if it crashes in other games, try some others. Safe man...ATI drivers are a doddle to remove.

Add Remove programs....clic on ATI Control Panel and remove it.

Dont reboot
Still in Add Remove programs, click on the Display Driver and remove thwt (BOTH of them, cos the card has 2 outputs, so remove both)

Then..once its all out and you're back at desktop.

Reboot....it'kll find a standard XP driver.

then install the new ones.

Driver first....no reboot....control panel...still no reboot....back to desk top.reboot.

Wiat for black screen....pooh pants.....smile :)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 27 Jul 2005 16:40 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
just to ease you mid a bit more.

4.11 is 2004 November.

5.6 is 2005 June :)

etc etc

the actual files are worse numbers but thats how to find them on the ATI site.

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 28 Jul 2005 19:38 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 09 Dec 2004 22:21
Posts: 722
Location: Daaarrrzet
was wondering how the figures worked.....

OK I've installed the 5.7 from the ATI site, any difference between these or the Omega ones?

_________________
Image
Monkeeees....Not just for breakfast...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30 Jul 2005 00:45 
Offline
>1000
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:38
Posts: 1036
Location: London
Omega are "tweaked" by el Geekos and are considered better than stock by many folk.

I'm using softmods myself, got a 9800 with unlocked pipes to give me a 9800pro @ 1/2 price :p (plus clocked to XT speeds :p)

Use driver cleaner when uninstalling drivers, as parts are always left behind, which is messy.

http://www.drivercleaner.net/

_________________
Image
Не роза без шипa
Not a Rose Without a Thorn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01 Oct 2005 12:22 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 09 Dec 2004 22:21
Posts: 722
Location: Daaarrrzet
OK..

so I installed the latest omega drivers.....

AND I found a reasonable XP3000 to tweak the performance up a little more.

I'm reasonably impressed. I can run in Excellent mode all the time, frame rates don't dip too significantly. Get an average 30-35fps on the deathtrk, good enough for my eyballs.

Overall though I seem to pick up targets a lot easier, dots seem to appear further away.

Even seems to make CS and other games a little smoother too.....

happy for a bit.

_________________
Image
Monkeeees....Not just for breakfast...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006 11:57 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 12:10
Posts: 714
Any updates on this?

I've just had to reinstall everything and need to update the Radeon drivers for my 9800 pro. What would you all recommend and where can I find it?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006 12:25 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
well, ATI are using something called .net at the moment in their drivers, which is a MicroSoft package that I totally dont understand but don't like cos it doesnt alwayas work.,

SO I'll find you the last ATI's that worked for me on my old 9800Pro

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006 12:40 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
Try these Dec 05 drivers.

http://support.ati.com/ics/support/DLRe ... deptID=894
/\ thats the driver


http://support.ati.com/ics/support/DLRe ... deptID=894
that's the Control Panel

Dwonload to your PC.
To install, double click the display driver first, let it install, click next etc, and at the last one, DONT REBOOT....you will do it yourself.

Then run the COntrol Panel.....do the same and once again, DONT REBOOT...you'll do it yourself.

Then shut all windows...and then reboot.

When it reboots, dont burst into tears when the mouse is all jerky and the screen then goes black!

And then it'll be ok :)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006 13:15 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 12:10
Posts: 714
thanks, i'll try it later

I have a mortal fear of installing new graphics drivers. They've caused me more grief than anything else computers wise. Anyway, I've just installed XP on a new hard drive, so the whole system is nice and smooth at the moment (no blue screens).

I have installed the .NET frame, so I guess the latest Radeons would work - though the simpler the better in my book.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006 14:58 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
Radeon drivers really are dead easy. Try those I've put there first.

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006 17:05 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 12:10
Posts: 714
got the drivers installed - and they seem to be working okay - though I'll have to tweak.

Should I have uninstalled the ATI Hydravision controllers before installing the CATALYST control centre? I now seem to have two ATI Icons leading to different control centres!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006 19:03 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:28
Posts: 627
Location: In the Pickle Barrel
probably.. I'd try uninstalling the non-catalyst one anyway, and if it mucks up the catalyst control panel, just repaeat the process of installation...

_________________
Image
Luke: "I can't type with a HOTAS"
Nuts: "Why don't you use your keyboard?"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006 19:52 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
yes start again....dead easy.

Control Panel
Add Remove Program
DO all the ATI stuff, doing display driver last

Reboot....XP will use its own driver for you to see with ;)

Then install Display Driver and then COntrol Panel without a reboot...then reboot once both are in and you're back to desk top :)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2006 21:20 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 12:10
Posts: 714
I've uninstalled the old controller, and now everything seems to be fine.

No problem with the drivers, though I guess I should have really uninstalled the old ones first.

Though at some point I will probably uninstall everything and reinstall, just to be on the safe side.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2006 09:20 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
MA_Moby wrote:
No problem with the drivers, though I guess I should have really uninstalled the old ones first.

Though at some point I will probably uninstall everything and reinstall, just to be on the safe side.

it'll take 10 minutes :)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2006 15:12 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 12:10
Posts: 714
MA_Zak33 wrote:
MA_Moby wrote:
No problem with the drivers, though I guess I should have really uninstalled the old ones first.

Though at some point I will probably uninstall everything and reinstall, just to be on the safe side.

it'll take 10 minutes :)


done and dusted :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 23 Mar 2006 19:10 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
well done.....Radeon drivers are heaven :)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2006 10:58 
Offline
1

Joined: 11 Jan 2005 09:48
Posts: 9
Location: Slovenia
for perfect uninstall/reinstall, use CATALYST Uninstaller found on ati.com

so:
1. uninstall cat driver (don't reboot)
2. uninstall control panel (don't reboot)
3. run uninstaller (don't reboot)
4. go to C:\ATI\SUPPORT OR c:\wherever your old drivers were extracted to and delete complete folder EXCEPT cat uninstaller folder (usually in same folder)
5. reboot
6. cancel "new hardware found, would you like to install yada yada"
7. defrag
8. install new cats.
9. reboot when asked to
10. defrag
11. reinstall directx9.0c (have it on your pc, don't use that online crap thingie)
12. reboot
13. defrag (yes, again).
14. whatever, avoiding 13 steps jinx ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2006 12:32 
Offline
>500

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 01:28
Posts: 929
Location: Behind a 109
PE_Niko wrote:
for perfect uninstall/reinstall, use CATALYST Uninstaller found on ati.com


14. whatever, avoiding 13 steps jinx ;)


LMAO :bob:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2006 12:56 
Offline
>1000
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:38
Posts: 1036
Location: London
The two methods I have used and have never given me problems with ATi drivers:

Method one:

1. Download and install "Driver Cleaner"
2. Use uninstallers from "Add/Remove programs
3. Reboot into safe mode
4. Run Driver Cleaner, "clean" all ATi.
5. Reboot into normal mode
6. Cancel auto-install
7. Manual install drivers of choice (latest for me everytime, never had problems)
8. Reboot.
9. Play..


Method two:

1. Switch to nVidia.

_________________
Image
Не роза без шипa
Not a Rose Without a Thorn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2006 13:23 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
You defrag 3 times just to upgrade some graphics drivers?

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2006 15:47 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
SmoothNuts wrote:
You defrag 3 times just to upgrade some graphics drivers?


made me gasp too ;)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2006 17:58 
Offline
>500
User avatar

Joined: 09 Dec 2004 22:21
Posts: 722
Location: Daaarrrzet
Blimey, I just bung the new drivers on and reboot.....

:moon:

_________________
Image
Monkeeees....Not just for breakfast...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2006 21:53 
Offline
1

Joined: 11 Jan 2005 09:48
Posts: 9
Location: Slovenia
MA_Zak33 wrote:
SmoothNuts wrote:
You defrag 3 times just to upgrade some graphics drivers?


made me gasp too ;)


Defraging every few days anyway :prop: so it takes 30-60 seconds, not more and it's good to have all driver files on same disk space for faster access, which, if u install on fraged disk, doesn't happen. :bob:

Thorn's option works too. Plus defrag, of course. While in safe-mode :rox:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01 Apr 2006 01:49 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
Maybe at boot-time, but once those drivers are loaded into memory I should imagine the difference would be negligible or non-existant. I defrag my main Windows partition at the very most once every 5 months.

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01 Apr 2006 11:12 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
Defrag monthly here. All three drives

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01 Apr 2006 11:37 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:50
Posts: 1106
Location: Here
Just out of interest what proggies are ppl using for defrag?
I use O&O's defrag tools, runs rings around the crap one you get with Windows...

_________________
Play chess online


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01 Apr 2006 15:17 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
Trig wrote:
Just out of interest what proggies are ppl using for defrag?
I use O&O's defrag tools, runs rings around the crap one you get with Windows...

ohhh.....I have no idea about that. I use Windows XP standard one.

tell all please :)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01 Apr 2006 15:55 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
I use XP disk defrag too. I use ReiserFS on Linux though with tail-packing enabled, no need to defrag ;)

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01 Apr 2006 17:36 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:50
Posts: 1106
Location: Here
Google it, you can get a demo from there website, 30 day trial iirc...

_________________
Play chess online


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 01 Apr 2006 20:08 
Offline
1

Joined: 11 Jan 2005 09:48
Posts: 9
Location: Slovenia
diskkeeper.
one click for defrag of all partitions.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group