MA_Marlins Online Squadron

Relocated
It is currently 21 Jul 2018 08:36

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2006 13:37 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
On a 19" Hyundai monitor, I've never seen IL-2 look so good, fly so SMOOTH and not jerk about.

Water was gorgeous, and all at 1280x960 with 2x AA.

Ripped my Barton PC a whole new A hole :(

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2006 15:14 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:50
Posts: 1106
Location: Here
I'm guessing that your not a processor man, the A64's be they Opterons/Athlon64's or whatever are much much more superior to the older chips, even the Bartons n they were the best of the SoA crowd...
Imagine IL2 on an x2 3800+ with 2Gb of RAM and a 256Mb x800 card..

_________________
Play chess online


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2006 15:59 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
Got a 7800GT at well over GTx speeds and an A64 at 3500MHz and all you need to do is zoom in at a large city like stalingrad or run the kamikaze track at full settings (1280x960) and the framerate still goes to shit, less than 1 fps.

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2006 11:09 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
SmoothNuts wrote:
Got a 7800GT at well over GTx speeds and an A64 at 3500MHz and all you need to do is zoom in at a large city like stalingrad or run the kamikaze track at full settings (1280x960) and the framerate still goes to shit, less than 1 fps.


thats IL2 for ya ;)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 02:35 
Offline
1
User avatar

Joined: 01 Jun 2005 17:13
Posts: 38
Location: Toronto, Canada
SmoothNuts wrote:
Got a 7800GT at well over GTx speeds and an A64 at 3500MHz and all you need to do is zoom in at a large city like stalingrad or run the kamikaze track at full settings (1280x960) and the framerate still goes to shit, less than 1 fps.


S~!

Hmmmm that doesn't sound right. I have a lower vid card with similiar cpu and same res. Lowest in Kamikaze with perfect water 0 is 13fps.

My numbers in Black Death with same settings as above and Forest 3 is
2006-03-01 23:35:02 - il2fb
Frames: 9202 - Time: 148019ms - Avg: 62.168 - Min: 26 - Max: 113

_________________
13th Hellenic Virtual Combat Squadron
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 17:46 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
Really? Well i'd like to get this sorted out. What do you use to log your framerates as you have posted?

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 17:55 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
Ok here is the graphics portion of my conf.ini. I use OGL, havn't tried with dx8. I have AA and AF set to application preference.

Using v4.04m

Code:
[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=2
Water=4
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=0

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0



And here is a screenie of the kamikaze2 track.


Image

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 19:38 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
That's not pretty is it chap ? :(

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 19:43 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
Forest=3 is asking for grief though. Forest =3 draws every tree seperately if I remember correctly.

Try Forest=1 for starters.

Next question: what drivers are they?

Wanna try summit weird? Download the drivers from the Video Card manu's website not from nVidia.com

The XFX drivers that we used on Auran's card were so good straight off CD I didnt bother with nVidia's own!

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 19:53 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
Just wacked effects on to 0 and the fps now barely drops below 20 fps in the kamikaze track. Little difference in theblackdeath though. Gonna try lowering forest like you suggest.

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 19:56 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
do..its worth it. I find FOrest kills my PC more than water.

Just a thought...what CPU? And whats running background?

(Start, Run, msconfig,....top right tab)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 20:01 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
Seems to be a combination of effects and water=4 that does the most fps damage for me, though nothing i do seems to help zoomed in over berlin or somewhere like that without dropping loads of settings.

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 20:17 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
Bumped a few settings around now got this.

Image

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Mar 2006 23:47 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
min is still 0 though :(

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Mar 2006 01:44 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
MA_Zak33 wrote:
min is still 0 though :(



Yea that's just where i hit print screen, usually sends the framerate right down as the HD is written to.

Decided on these settings, dosn't help in built up areas though, real pain when you're zoomed in dogfighting low over a city, other than that it's fine.

Image

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Mar 2006 10:03 
Offline
>500

Joined: 09 Dec 2004 21:31
Posts: 946
Location: Suffolk England
Errrr....this might be one of those embarrasing moments.....but WTF is that above????


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Mar 2006 10:33 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:50
Posts: 1106
Location: Here
I agree, wtf is that, never seen that panel before.. :S

_________________
Play chess online


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Mar 2006 12:25 
Offline
>1000
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:38
Posts: 1036
Location: London
IL2 Manager I believe.

_________________
Image
Не роза без шипa
Not a Rose Without a Thorn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Mar 2006 13:20 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
not seen it either!

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Mar 2006 13:44 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
at 1280x960 with no AA or AF on in the X800 Pro's control panel.

on my Barton on nForce2 with 1 gig at 12.5x180= 2250 mghz

I get

average 27
Max 100
Min 1

and to be fair my water looks nearly as black as that!!!

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Mar 2006 16:40 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
I'd like to see what settings you are using. Currently my average (37fps) is about 37/38 percent higher than 27 fps, which seems about right comparing an x800pro / 7800gt. But if your settings are different it's not really a useful comparison, can you post your OGL conf.ini/IL2 Manager settings and post a screenie?


IL2 Manager here http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque ... il&ID=2198

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2006 03:04 
Offline
1
User avatar

Joined: 01 Jun 2005 17:13
Posts: 38
Location: Toronto, Canada
S~!

Sorry to take so long to respond Nuts. I use Fraps to measure the min/max/avg. I find it superior and more accurate than the ingame fps counter. It also turns its display off during the test so as not to affect the benchmark.

Here is my opengl settings. I have an Amd 3700 and an Ati 850xtpe with a gig of ram. My processes are at 23 with just the game on. With regards to Forest 3 I have tested both 2 & 3 and found no recordable change in fps. But 3 sure looks a HELL of a lot better to my eyes.

I also got 2 extra frames by making a special 4 gig partition on the front of my drive (fastest part) that houses only the game. Don't ask me why it worked but it did and loading sure is a lot faster now. Just make sure to turn of system restore on that drive partition and to turn off the recycle bin there as well.

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=8

ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.0625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-1.0
Water=0
Effects=0

_________________
13th Hellenic Virtual Combat Squadron
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2006 17:06 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
ok chap...here goes.

Image

and this is at 2xAA and 2xAF

Quote:
[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=1
Forest=1
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=1
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.0625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-1.0


hows that?

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2006 19:50 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
Should prove a more apples for apples comparison. Copied over your settings and enabled the nVidia specific options (TexEnvCombine4NV=1, DepthClampNV=1, TextureShaderNV=1). Also it seems vertical sync is enabled for NV cards by default so i forced it off. 2xaa, 2xaf gives:

Image


Everything seems fine really dosn't it? Was just running with super-high settings before. But still, no difference over large cities.

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11 Mar 2006 20:04 
Offline
>500

Joined: 12 Dec 2004 23:38
Posts: 707
Yea the reason my results were so anomolous is that you guys didn't have VSync on, when the averages are worked out it can make a world of difference if your maximum possible fps is ~75 rather than ~100

_________________
Nuttier than a squirrel turd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 12 Mar 2006 00:30 
Offline
1
User avatar

Joined: 01 Jun 2005 17:13
Posts: 38
Location: Toronto, Canada
S~!

I am sure everyone here knows this but if (and when) you drop below your vsynch rate then you are automatically halving or even thirding your vsych rate. That is why I will never fly with it on. I find that if you get screen tearing then turning on triple buffering will greatly reduce or eliminate the problem. Many cards also see a speed increase with triple buffering on.

This screen is 4aa 16af (aniso on in game/application controlled in the driver) The game says my min fps is 22 -- Fraps says my min number is 26 which I is the one I tend to believe. Either way. I don't think you should be seeing a 3 anywhere with your specs :eek:

P.S. = Not a very well known hack cause the devs don't want you to know, but they are missing an instruction in the latest IL2_core.dll that came with 4.04m

http://13th-hellenicsqn.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=394

Excuse me for linking but I am in a rush, woman is harping........ :)

Image

_________________
13th Hellenic Virtual Combat Squadron
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group