MA_Marlins Online Squadron

Relocated
It is currently 14 Aug 2018 14:15

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2006 11:52 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
Had 30 minutes to kill, so did some benchmarks, and came out, proving yet again, that FB+AEP+PF needs CPU and ram AS WELL AS good video cards.

Ran Black Death track, pulled up console (SHift and Tab) typed "fps START SHOW" and then Shift Tab again at the beginning of the track. Let it run through 3 times, and then noted the average fps and then whacked a different card in, reinstalled drivers (same every time Apr 05) and used 9000 oem 128mb (not pro) , 9600 Pro 128mb and X800 Pro 256 DDR3

Used same game settings everytime and there no point in going into the full detail as it was identical, but water =1 trees =2 and Perfect in game.

No AA or AF.
9000 oem 18fps average
9600 Pro 33 fps
X800 Pro 42 fps

Now in theory that makes the X800 more that twice as fast as a 9000.....but it damn well should be! Its 8 times the price.

The 9600 Pro did well.

Only if ytou turn on the graphics card candy does it really make a difference.

All on an XP 2800+ with 1 gig of PC2700 at Cas2...typical kinda pc.

Took the ram out to half......oh hell.

Underclocked the cpu....oh hell!!

Moral: balanced systems. A huge video card with a moderate mobo and cpu and ram in this game aint worth toffee.

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2006 11:56 
Offline
>100

Joined: 09 Dec 2004 19:56
Posts: 232
Location: Upside Down
Have got my new stuff installed now, will hopefully do some tests on stock CPU, OC'd CPU, 1GB RAM, 2GB RAM to really see which is worth it.

Though I need to reinstall all FB again due to formatting :(

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2006 18:38 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
MA_Luke wrote:
Though I need to reinstall all FB again due to formatting :(


I know you know, but it bears saying again

Install FB
Install AEP
Install PF
Install patch pf_patch303m.exe (100MB) (not the upgrade)
Install patch pf_patch401m.exe (141MB)
Install patch pf_v402m.exe (31MB)

Make sure you use the M (merged) patches.

I can do it dead fast now. Then create new pilot in game (correct name you wanna use) but do nothing with it, no modifications.

Leave game, into the IL2 route folder, find Users folder, open the new pilot folder and drop in the files from your previous pilot)

COnfig utility, turn off game music, turn off comms in game, set vid settings,

Hyper Lobby
Team Speak
TSO

Jobs done :)

God I knowe that lot by heart :)

Tel you what else.....except for chagning trees to 1, I have left the conf file alone.

Seems smoother than my fiddled with version.

Not using ATIOPENGLLXXXXX things either.

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2006 19:22 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:50
Posts: 1106
Location: Here
I didnt reinstall IL2 when I reformatted, I just have it on a seperate drive and it fires up fine.

_________________
Play chess online


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Jan 2006 19:28 
Offline
>100

Joined: 09 Dec 2004 19:56
Posts: 232
Location: Upside Down
Deleted my bloody X45 profile aswell, thought I'd backed up everything :roll:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11 Jan 2006 20:46 
Offline
>1000

Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Posts: 1461
Location: landing near your wingtip
Trig wrote:
I didnt reinstall IL2 when I reformatted, I just have it on a seperate drive and it fires up fine.


thats the coolest thing about IL-2 installs....they dont touch the registry except in the way a text doc or jpg does.

Hence patches going in as zip files.

Means you can take a HDD with IL-2 on it and whack it into a PC as a slave HDD, and grab the .exe file and run it :)

_________________
War Games: The genre closest to perfect and yet furthest from it too. IL-2, ARMA2, Call of Duty.. the list of close to ideal and far from perfect is eternal...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group