Is there a Skin Engine to display your work

Anything to do creating new skins, squadron logos etc.

Moderator: MA_Marlins

Post Reply
MA_Zak33
>1000
Posts: 1461
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Location: landing near your wingtip
Contact:

Is there a Skin Engine to display your work

Post by MA_Zak33 »

Without being in the game itself?

Has anyone either taken the skin plane engine out of the game. The thing that lets you see your work?

I'd love to sit here, at work, with sod all else to do on snowy days making skins with painshop Pro...

but the game itself is NOT getting installed here at work. The machines not good enough and besides.....

well....you know
MA_Thorn
>1000
Posts: 1036
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:38
Location: London

Post by MA_Thorn »

I believe there is, I'm sure I saw something on il2skins.com, will have a butchers.
EDIT: Or not as the site is undergoing a make over.
Image
Не роза без шипa
Not a Rose Without a Thorn
MA_Thorn
>1000
Posts: 1036
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:38
Location: London

Post by MA_Thorn »

Try this:

http://www.leigh-kemp.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/index.htm

And note that you'll probably want to close IE after you have been to that site, else you will be stuck with the fancy transition between pages :|
Image
Не роза без шипa
Not a Rose Without a Thorn
MA_Zak33
>1000
Posts: 1461
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 11:41
Location: landing near your wingtip
Contact:

Post by MA_Zak33 »

hmm....got hopefull there. Thats MAT manager....the textfile that tells the game where to put the logos and numbers on the planes.

But I want to se (if its possible...probably not) WHAT THEPLANE LOOKS LIKE IN-GAME without installing the game itself.

A 3d modelling package that "wraps" the skin around the plane shape.

I guess I'm dreaming
MA_Dak
>500
Posts: 929
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 01:28
Location: Behind a 109

Post by MA_Dak »

MA_Zak33 wrote:hmm....got hopefull there. Thats MAT manager....the textfile that tells the game where to put the logos and numbers on the planes.

But I want to se (if its possible...probably not) WHAT THEPLANE LOOKS LIKE IN-GAME without installing the game itself.

A 3d modelling package that "wraps" the skin around the plane shape.

I guess I'm dreaming


No mate your not dreaming ask here I bet someone will know.....Oh there must be or the skinners couldnt skin new planes that havent been put in game yet

http://www.netwings.org/cgi-bin/dcforum ... =DCConfID1
Image
MA_Luke
>100
Posts: 232
Joined: 09 Dec 2004 19:56
Location: Upside Down

Post by MA_Luke »

Those guys use 3D Studio Max to both model the planes and then get the models into a form to be able to skin AFAICS.

And 3D Studio Max = ££££D $tudio Max - very expensive piece of software.
Image
MA_Thorn
>1000
Posts: 1036
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:38
Location: London

Post by MA_Thorn »

*cough* unless you know where to go *cough*
Image
Не роза без шипa
Not a Rose Without a Thorn
MA_Tumble
>500
Posts: 627
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:28
Location: In the Pickle Barrel

Post by MA_Tumble »

MA_Thorn wrote:*cough* unless you know where to go *cough*


maybe you could check your friendly local garage? amazing what they have in store these days...
Image
Luke: "I can't type with a HOTAS"
Nuts: "Why don't you use your keyboard?"
MA_Thorn
>1000
Posts: 1036
Joined: 10 Dec 2004 13:38
Location: London

Post by MA_Thorn »

I could always look closer to home than that :P

If you do get 3DS Max, it'd be best to have a machine dedicated to the task.. it engulfed my OS (upon install it recompiles the windows kernel...) and only option was to format, nothing except 3DS max would run. Screwed everything, even the default and classic Windows XP Themes. :|
Image
Не роза без шипa
Not a Rose Without a Thorn
Post Reply